Reel Life

The first film that I saw in the cinema was Toy Story 3 (Lee Unkrich, 2010). I don’t have many clear memories of my first time watching the film, however, I remember really enjoying the cinema experience and seeing a film on the big screen for the first time. In my opinion, the film holds up extremely well and the ending makes me tear up every time I watch it. The characters and setting are both timeless and I revisit the trilogy every year or so.

Toy Story 3 ★★★★

The film that has had the most emotional impact upon me is Whiplash (Damien Chazelle, 2014). I watched it for the first time about a year ago and I was utterly astounded. I have a personal relationship to the film due to the fact that I play the drums and I could relate to the struggles and challenges that Andrew Neimon had to overcome during the course of the film. I absolutely adore the film’s cinematography, pacing, as well as the phenomenal performances from Miles Teller and JK Simmons.

Whiplash ★★★★★

A relatively underrated film that I enjoy is Phone Booth (Joel Schumacher, 2002). It is a psychological thriller that takes place in one single location: a public phone booth. What I like about the film is that it is very short (1hr 21 mins), meaning that it doesn’t overstay its welcome and is completely self contained. The film expertly uses tension to build atmosphere and it ultimately results in a satisfying conclusion.

Phone Booth ★★★★

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started